Local prices read on 6 October 2026 from each clinic's own website. Turkey figures from the Foxpare price index, reviewed 4 October 2026.
Short answer. Two San Diego-area clinics publish hair transplant prices on their own websites. One states a per-graft rate — "FUT – $3 per graft" and "FUE – $3.50 – $4 per graft", with "a minimum cost of $3,000" — and the other publishes ranges by treatment area, from "$8000 – $10,000" for a small area to "$17,000 – $20,000" for a large area of "3000 or more grafts". On Foxpare's price index, the 33 Istanbul clinics that publish package prices start at a median of €2,390 (≈ $2,683 USD), with the middle half starting between €2,000 and €2,940; most of those packages include the hotel and airport transfers. Whether the difference is worth a one-stop flight depends on three things the price tags don't show: who performs each step, what is included, and how many grafts you actually need.
What San Diego clinics publish
Foxpare records only prices that a clinic states on its own website, quoted as written, with the page and the date. We do not calculate a "San Diego average" — two clinics are not a market — and a published rate is not a quote: both clinics below say the final figure depends on your consultation.
| Clinic (own website) | Published price, as stated | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| My Hair MD (Hair Transplant San Diego) — 2103 S. El Camino Real, Suite 201, Oceanside, CA 92054 | "Follicular Unit Transplant (FUT) – $3 per graft. Follicular Unit Extraction (FUE) – $3.50 – $4 per graft, based on number of grafts. We require a minimum procedure size of 600 grafts and/or a minimum cost of $3,000. The price per graft charge is all-inclusive. we require a $1,000 deposit to reserve the surgery date." | Per-graft rate; "all-inclusive"; tax not stated; the clinic is in Oceanside, in northern San Diego County |
| California Hair MD — La Jolla; street address not stated on the price page | "Small area: may range from $8000 – $10,000. Medium area: may vary from $12,000 – $15,000. Large area involving 3000 or more grafts may cost $17,000 – $20,000. Revisionary cases may cost more depending upon the deformities that need to be corrected." | Ranges by area, not per graft; only the large band states a graft count; tax not stated on the price page |
Sources: hairtransplantsandiego.com/pricing/ · californiahairmd.com/why-us/how-much-does-a-hair-transplant-cost/ (both read 6 October 2026). One further San Diego clinic we checked (Golden Triangle Plastic Surgery) publishes no price; two further clinics could not be read. If you are a San Diego clinic with published prices we missed, tell us and we will add the page.
What Turkish clinics publish
As of 4 October 2026, 38 clinics on Foxpare publish an all-in package price (the remaining providers quote after a consultation). Entry prices run from €891 to €4,500; the overall median is €2,350 (≈ $2,638). For Istanbul alone — 33 of those clinics — the median entry price is €2,390 (≈ $2,683) and the middle half start between €2,000 and €2,940. The published Istanbul packages are typically priced per procedure rather than per graft, and most include the hotel stay and airport–hotel–clinic transfers; what each one includes is listed per package on the price index.
Two things Turkish prices do not tell you, and that we show separately: who performs each step — of the 50 providers that publish package details, 11 state on their own site who opens the channels, extracts or places the grafts; the other 39 do not say — and the clinic's Ministry of Health record status (listed facility, authorised agency, or no match). Turkish law reserves channel opening to a physician and allows certified assistants to extract and place grafts under supervision; the rules are explained article by article in our guide to Turkey's hair transplant regulation.
Comparing like with like
- Per graft vs per area vs per package. One San Diego clinic prices per graft and the other by treatment area; Istanbul packages are mostly flat prices with a graft limit or "any graft count". Ask both for a written quote at your graft count, including every fee.
- Tax. Sales tax does not apply to medical procedures in California; one San Diego clinic calls its per-graft charge "all-inclusive" and the other does not mention tax on its price page. Turkish package prices on Foxpare are the amounts the clinics publish; ask whether anything is added at payment.
- Travel. San Diego–Istanbul is one stop, usually via Los Angeles or a European hub. Add the fare, the days off work and a companion if you want one; most Istanbul packages include 2–3 hotel nights and transfers, which San Diego quotes do not need to.
- Follow-up. Revision or touch-up work is easier locally. Ask any Turkish clinic what happens, and who pays, if you need a correction.
- The surgeon. In California you can check a physician on the Medical Board of California licence lookup (mbc.ca.gov) and ISHRS membership at ishrs.org. In Turkey, ask for the physician's name and certificate and check the facility's Ministry record on Foxpare.
Health insurance and hair transplants
US health insurance does not cover cosmetic hair transplantation; the full cost is out of pocket whether you choose San Diego or Istanbul. That is why it is worth comparing total out-of-pocket cost — procedure, deposit terms, travel and follow-up — rather than the headline figure.
Questions to ask both clinics
- What is the total price at my graft count, including tax, medication and aftercare?
- Which physician opens the channels, and who extracts and places the grafts?
- How many operating rooms is that physician responsible for on the day?
- What is included in the package — hotel nights, transfers, PRP — and what is not?
- If I need a correction, what is the policy and the cost?
Sources
- My Hair MD (Hair Transplant San Diego), pricing page — hairtransplantsandiego.com/pricing/ (read 6 Oct 2026)
- California Hair MD, hair transplant cost page — californiahairmd.com/why-us/how-much-does-a-hair-transplant-cost/ (read 6 Oct 2026)
- Foxpare price index, reviewed 4 Oct 2026 — /price-index
- Foxpare, Turkey's hair transplant regulation explained — /blog/turkey-hair-transplant-regulation-explained
Foxpare lists published prices as stated by each clinic, with the source and date. We do not rank clinics, we have not verified San Diego clinics beyond reading their websites, and this is not medical or financial advice.

