Local prices read on 6 October 2026 from each clinic's own website. Turkey figures from the Foxpare price index, reviewed 4 October 2026.
Short answer. Four clinics serving Houston publish hair transplant prices on their own websites, and all four price per graft: "as low as $4.50 per graft" at one, "$4.00 to $6.00 per graft" at another, "$5 to $6 per graft" at a third, and "starting at $3.75 per graft" at a multi-location practice with a Houston page. On Foxpare's price index, the 33 Istanbul clinics that publish package prices start at a median of €2,390 (≈ $2,683 USD), with the middle half starting between €2,000 and €2,940; most of those packages include the hotel and airport transfers. Whether the difference is worth a 12-hour flight depends on three things the price tags don't show: who performs each step, what is included, and how many grafts you actually need.
What Houston clinics publish
Foxpare records only prices that a clinic states on its own website, quoted as written, with the page and the date. We do not calculate a "Houston average" — four clinics are not a market — and a published rate is not a quote: every clinic below says the final figure depends on your consultation.
| Clinic (own website) | Published price, as stated | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Houston Hair Transplant Center — 4101 Greenbriar Dr. Suite 200, Houston, TX 77098 | "Houston Hair Transplant Center charges as low as $4.50 per graft" | Per-graft rate (ATERA FUE); tax not stated |
| Dr. Bradford S. Patt / Aesthetic Center for Plastic Surgery — 12727 Kimberley Lane, Suite 300, Houston, TX 77024 | "For FUE or Neograft hair grafts, it's charged by each graft with $4.00 to $6.00 per graft. A receding hairline procedure typically requires 1,500 to 1,800 grafts, charged at $5.00 per graft. A procedure for male pattern baldness requires 2,300 to 2,500 grafts. For the first 2,000, it's $5.00 per graft and then $4.00 per graft over 2,000" | Per-graft rate with a lower rate above 2,000 grafts; stated on a blog post; tax not stated |
| Lyos Plastic Surgery & Dermatology Associates — 9230 Katy Freeway #420, Houston, TX 77055 (also The Woodlands) | "The price usually runs at $5 to $6 per graft, and most patients require an average of 1,000 -1,500 grafts for their treatment." | Per-graft rate (SmartGraft); tax not stated |
| Affordable Hair Transplants — address not stated on the price page | "Affordable Hair Transplants provides competitive rates starting at $3.75 per graft." | Multi-location practice; no Houston street address on the price page; tax not stated |
Sources: hairphysician.com/atera-fue-cost/ · pattmd.com/blog/how-much-does-hair-transplant-restoration-cost-in-houston-texas/ · lyosmd.com/men/smart-grafting/ · affordablehairtransplants.com/hair-transplant-locations/houston-hair-transplant-surgeon/ (all read 6 October 2026). One further Houston clinic we checked (The Clinic for Plastic Surgery, Dr. Sukkar) publishes no price of its own; one further clinic could not be read. General statements on these pages about what a hair transplant "typically" costs in Houston, or what other providers charge, are not recorded as data. If you are a Houston clinic with published prices we missed, tell us and we will add the page.
What Turkish clinics publish
As of 4 October 2026, 38 clinics on Foxpare publish an all-in package price (the remaining providers quote after a consultation). Entry prices run from €891 to €4,500; the overall median is €2,350 (≈ $2,638). For Istanbul alone — 33 of those clinics — the median entry price is €2,390 (≈ $2,683) and the middle half start between €2,000 and €2,940. The published Istanbul packages are typically priced per procedure rather than per graft, and most include the hotel stay and airport–hotel–clinic transfers; what each one includes is listed per package on the price index.
Two things Turkish prices do not tell you, and that we show separately: who performs each step — of the 50 providers that publish package details, 11 state on their own site who opens the channels, extracts or places the grafts; the other 39 do not say — and the clinic's Ministry of Health record status (listed facility, authorised agency, or no match). Turkish law reserves channel opening to a physician and allows certified assistants to extract and place grafts under supervision; the rules are explained article by article in our guide to Turkey's hair transplant regulation.
Comparing like with like
- Per graft vs per package. All four Houston clinics price per graft, and one of them lowers the rate above 2,000 grafts; Istanbul packages are mostly flat prices with a graft limit or "any graft count". Ask both for a written quote at your graft count, including every fee.
- Tax. Sales tax does not apply to medical procedures in Texas; none of the four clinics states tax. Turkish package prices on Foxpare are the amounts the clinics publish; ask whether anything is added at payment.
- Travel. Houston has non-stop flights to Istanbul (about 12 hours). Add the fare, the days off work and a companion if you want one; most Istanbul packages include 2–3 hotel nights and transfers, which Houston quotes do not need to.
- Follow-up. Revision or touch-up work is easier locally. Ask any Turkish clinic what happens, and who pays, if you need a correction.
- The surgeon. In Texas you can check a physician on the Texas Medical Board licence lookup (tmb.state.tx.us) and ISHRS membership at ishrs.org. In Turkey, ask for the physician's name and certificate and check the facility's Ministry record on Foxpare.
Health insurance and hair transplants
US health insurance does not cover cosmetic hair transplantation; the full cost is out of pocket whether you choose Houston or Istanbul. That is why it is worth comparing total out-of-pocket cost — procedure, travel and follow-up — rather than the headline figure.
Questions to ask both clinics
- What is the total price at my graft count, including tax, medication and aftercare?
- Which physician opens the channels, and who extracts and places the grafts?
- How many operating rooms is that physician responsible for on the day?
- What is included in the package — hotel nights, transfers, PRP — and what is not?
- If I need a correction, what is the policy and the cost?
Sources
- Houston Hair Transplant Center, ATERA FUE cost page — hairphysician.com/atera-fue-cost/ (read 6 Oct 2026)
- Dr. Bradford S. Patt / Aesthetic Center for Plastic Surgery, hair transplant cost blog post — pattmd.com/blog/how-much-does-hair-transplant-restoration-cost-in-houston-texas/ (read 6 Oct 2026)
- Lyos Plastic Surgery & Dermatology Associates, SmartGraft page — lyosmd.com/men/smart-grafting/ (read 6 Oct 2026)
- Affordable Hair Transplants, Houston location page — affordablehairtransplants.com/hair-transplant-locations/houston-hair-transplant-surgeon/ (read 6 Oct 2026)
- Foxpare price index, reviewed 4 Oct 2026 — /price-index
- Foxpare, Turkey's hair transplant regulation explained — /blog/turkey-hair-transplant-regulation-explained
Foxpare lists published prices as stated by each clinic, with the source and date. We do not rank clinics, we have not verified Houston clinics beyond reading their websites, and this is not medical or financial advice.
