Local prices read on 6 October 2026 from each clinic's own website. Turkey figures from the Foxpare price index, reviewed 4 October 2026.

Short answer. Three Edinburgh clinics publish hair transplant prices on their own websites. None states a per-graft rate: all three publish a starting price — "begins at £2,000" at one clinic, "From £2500" at another and "starts from £3,500" at the third — and all three say the final figure depends on the size of the procedure. On Foxpare's price index, the 33 Istanbul clinics that publish package prices start at a median of €2,390 (≈ $2,683 USD), with the middle half starting between €2,000 and €2,940; most of those packages include the hotel and airport transfers. Whether the difference is worth a 4.5-hour flight depends on three things the price tags don't show: who performs each step, what is included, and how many grafts you actually need.

What Edinburgh clinics publish

Foxpare records only prices that a clinic states on its own website, quoted as written, with the page and the date. We do not calculate an "Edinburgh average" — three clinics are not a market — and a published starting price is not a quote: every clinic below says the final figure depends on your consultation.

Clinic (own website)Published price, as statedNotes
Seneca Medical Group — 30 Melville St"The cost of a direct FUE hair transplant begins at £2,000 for minor cases and can extend up to £9,000 for more complex procedures"; "On average, a Direct FUE hair transplant at our clinic costs around £4,000 – £5,500, but this can vary based on individual needs"Starting price and the clinic's own stated average; VAT not stated
UK Hair Transplant Clinics — 83 Princes Street"Hair Transplants From £2500"; "hair transplants start at £2,500"; "Payment plans run from £70 a month over 12 to 60 months"Starting price; the page also gives a general "most hair transplants cost between £3,000 and £7,000" sentence, which we do not treat as the clinic's tariff; VAT not stated
Vinci Hair Clinic — St David Street (consultation centre; full street number not given on the page)"Surgery starts from £3,500 and is priced by the size of the procedure (Small, Medium, Large, or Max)"; "We do not price graft-by-graft because the exact number is only confirmed once extraction begins"Priced by procedure size, not per graft; VAT not stated

Sources: senecamd.com · ukhairtransplantclinics.co.uk/edinburgh-clinic/ · vincihairclinic.com/en/?p=5866 (all read 6 October 2026). One further Edinburgh clinic could not be read. If you are an Edinburgh clinic with published prices we missed, tell us and we will add the page.

What Turkish clinics publish

As of 4 October 2026, 38 clinics on Foxpare publish an all-in package price (the remaining providers quote after a consultation). Entry prices run from €891 to €4,500; the overall median is €2,350 (≈ $2,638). For Istanbul alone — 33 of those clinics — the median entry price is €2,390 (≈ $2,683) and the middle half start between €2,000 and €2,940. The published Istanbul packages are typically priced per procedure rather than per graft, and most include the hotel stay and airport–hotel–clinic transfers; what each one includes is listed per package on the price index.

Two things Turkish prices do not tell you, and that we show separately: who performs each step — of the 50 providers that publish package details, 11 state on their own site who opens the channels, extracts or places the grafts; the other 39 do not say — and the clinic's Ministry of Health record status (listed facility, authorised agency, or no match). Turkish law reserves channel opening to a physician and allows certified assistants to extract and place grafts under supervision; the rules are explained article by article in our guide to Turkey's hair transplant regulation.

Comparing like with like

  • Starting price vs per package. Edinburgh clinics publish a starting price that rises with the size of the procedure; Istanbul packages are mostly flat prices with a graft limit or "any graft count". Ask both for a written quote at your graft count, including every fee.
  • Tax. None of the three Edinburgh clinics states whether VAT is included; VAT is not usually charged on medical procedures, but ask. Turkish package prices on Foxpare are the amounts the clinics publish; ask whether anything is added at payment.
  • Travel. Edinburgh has non-stop flights to Istanbul (about 4.5 hours). Add the fare, the days off work and a companion if you want one; most Istanbul packages include 2–3 hotel nights and transfers, which Edinburgh quotes do not need to.
  • Follow-up. Revision or touch-up work is easier locally. Ask any Turkish clinic what happens, and who pays, if you need a correction.
  • The surgeon. In Scotland you can check that an independent clinic is registered with Healthcare Improvement Scotland (healthcareimprovementscotland.scot), check the surgeon on the GMC register (gmc-uk.org) and ISHRS membership at ishrs.org. In Turkey, ask for the physician's name and certificate and check the facility's Ministry record on Foxpare.

The NHS and hair transplants

The NHS does not fund cosmetic hair transplantation; the full cost is out of pocket whether you choose Edinburgh or Istanbul. The NHS's own page states that a private UK hair transplant "can cost anywhere between £1,000 and £30,000" — a range wide enough to say little on its own. That is why it is worth comparing total out-of-pocket cost — procedure, tax, travel and follow-up — rather than the headline figure.

Questions to ask both clinics

  1. What is the total price at my graft count, including tax, medication and aftercare?
  2. Which physician opens the channels, and who extracts and places the grafts?
  3. How many operating rooms is that physician responsible for on the day?
  4. What is included in the package — hotel nights, transfers, PRP — and what is not?
  5. If I need a correction, what is the policy and the cost?

Sources

  • Seneca Medical Group, home page with pricing — senecamd.com (read 6 Oct 2026)
  • UK Hair Transplant Clinics, Edinburgh clinic page — ukhairtransplantclinics.co.uk/edinburgh-clinic/ (read 6 Oct 2026)
  • Vinci Hair Clinic, Edinburgh page — vincihairclinic.com/en/?p=5866 (read 6 Oct 2026)
  • Foxpare price index, reviewed 4 Oct 2026 — /price-index
  • Foxpare, Turkey's hair transplant regulation explained — /blog/turkey-hair-transplant-regulation-explained

Foxpare lists published prices as stated by each clinic, with the source and date. We do not rank clinics, we have not verified Edinburgh clinics beyond reading their websites, and this is not medical or financial advice.